i-supra.com    i-supra.com    www.i-supra.com  Hop To Forum Categories  Announcements    SCAM INFO

Moderators: Zero_One
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Reply
  
-star Rating Rate It!  Login/Join 
Moderator
i-Supra Journeyman
AIM: Online Status For shaeff865
Posted
this is a constantly running ad on ebay to make car buyers beware of scammers. its very informative, i think everyone should read it. i think this dude's doin somethin good for the community. show your support!

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=2490008161&category=6755

check it out. email him to show your support.
-shaeff
 
Posts: 3064 | Location: Upstate NY | Registered: April 02, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Chief Moderator
i-Supra Journeyman
Posted Hide Post
yea thats been around for a while. glad someone is trying to do something about the scams.
 
Posts: 3712 | Location: So Cal 909 | Registered: August 19, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Member
Picture of SupraOne
Posted Hide Post
That's a good warning about ebay scammers. Who's the lucky bastard that got the 1 Supra imported to Uganda? j/k




-- Slowly earning my way to a twin turbo --
 
Posts: 141 | Location: U.S.A. | Registered: August 02, 2004Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Moderator
Senior Member
Picture of michaelvanle
AIM: Online Status For michaelvanle
Posted Hide Post
Yea I noticed listings like these a while back. He used to post it under the "Supra" car for sale section, but as he mentioned it costs like 40 bucks per listing so I guess he posted elsewhere to save money. Awful nice guy to take his time/money to do this.


- _ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _
2000 GS400
 
Posts: 1011 | Location: South Jersey | Registered: May 31, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Member
AIM: Online Status For BandysGuy2008
Posted Hide Post
Thats a very good listing. Now if only more people ould ome acros it many more people would not be screwed out of thousands of dollars.


 
Posts: 85 | Location: Claremont, North Carolina | Registered: January 01, 2005Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Mid-level Member
Posted Hide Post
Its a great add and good information for everyone, but i wonder if the guy who is posting it is making enough money for it to be worth it. When I was reading it, I was thinking that this was the perfect SCAM, because he is bashing scammers. No one would suspect. I don't think this is true, but you never know. Just for fun, he gets a dollar from 20 people a day (not very likely), and he's got 100 extra bucks a week, minus ebay charges.
Again, I am not in any way saying anything bad about the add, it's great that someone cares enough to adress the problem, I dont know how many times I been reading adds for a supra for 7000 bucks with all these great mods. Lets hope it helps a little, and scares scammers away.
 
Posts: 347 | Location: Wisconsin | Registered: September 06, 2004Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Mid-level Member
AIM: Online Status For HOtRodViper13
Posted Hide Post
theres a small flaw in ur logic? how can it be a scam? he's not trying to sell anything, he's not asking u to send money for something he doesnt have. he's not pretending to sell u anything. if someone wants to send him money to help keep that ad up, thats their choice. besides, the idea of a scam is to get lots of money cheap and easily. Smile
 
Posts: 461 | Location: hillsboro, OR | Registered: April 22, 2004Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Member
AIM: Online Status For BandysGuy2008
Posted Hide Post
Yeah, making 80 bucks a week inst that great of a scam.


 
Posts: 85 | Location: Claremont, North Carolina | Registered: January 01, 2005Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Mid-level Member
Posted Hide Post
Im not saying it is a scam. He is asking for donations, and that is ok. there is nothing wrong with it. But no one knows if he is getting more money than he puts into it.
an 80 bucks a week is not a great scam. I was just putting the possibility out there. I think it is a great add. it should be there, and ebay should almost run it for free just because it is important. I am not trying to get anybody angry, or anything that might upset anyone. I was just pointing the possibility out. There are plenty of scams that ask for donations, it is not uncommon. The chance that this is a scam is not good to zero percent.
Sorry for any missconceptions, I support it, and would probably send him a couple of bucks if I had any to spare.
So all in all, its a good add on ebay, and should stay there.
 
Posts: 347 | Location: Wisconsin | Registered: September 06, 2004Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Member
Posted Hide Post
I feel sorry for the people who have gotten caught up in the scams, but come on. You have to be stupid to fall for some of that stuff. Doesnt this sound a little bit fake? : "
1994 Toyota Supra TT 6-Spd
20,000 miles
No Mods
Perfect Condition
I just moved to Europe so I need to sell it cheap. Price is 10,000. I will need a 3,000 deposit to secure shipping and import costs."

If you fall for that you have issues, and while some are better written, if you know about Supras there are still plenty of dead obvious give aways.
 
Posts: 136 | Location: Alabama | Registered: January 01, 2005Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
 Previous Topic | Next Topic powered by eve community  
 

i-supra.com    i-supra.com    www.i-supra.com  Hop To Forum Categories  Announcements    SCAM INFO

© YourCopy 2001